Janet Jackson To Be Inducted Into The Rock & Roll Hall Of Fame

Elijah C. Watson Elijah Watson serves as Okayplayer's News & Culture Editor. When…
Photo Credit: Farrenton Grigsby
Janet Jackson Brings The Classics To Barclays For Her “State of the World” Tour

Photo Credit: Farrenton Grigsby

The Rhythm Nation artist has been snubbed for the honor multiple times in the past.

Janet Jackson is finally getting inducted into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame.

READ: Janet Jackson Empowers Women In And Outside Of Music

“We did it u guys. Thank U for all your love and support,” Jackson tweeted Thursday morning.

Fifteen artists were nominated for the honor but only seven acts ended up being “recognized for having contributed over 25 years of musical experience.”

Jackson was selected along with Stevie Nicks, Radiohead, Roxy Music, The Zombies, Def Leppard, and The Cure.

The inductees will be formally honored to the Hall of Fame during a ceremony on March 29, 2019 at New York City’s Barclays Center.

Jackson received another honor earlier this year when she was given the Billboard Icon Award, making her the first black woman ever to receive the award.

“This is a moment when, at long last, women have made it clear that we will no longer be controlled, manipulated, or abused,” she said upon receiving the award. “Everything we lack, God has in abundance.”

“Our public discourse is loud and harsh. My prayer is that weary of such noise, we will turn back to the source of all calmness, that source is God,” she continued. “I want to thank all of you for this honor and I thank God for giving me the precious energy that lets me live my life as an artist who every day seeks to expand my capacity to love.”

Want More?

Sign Up To Our Newsletter

Follow Us