'Akira' Soundtrack Finally Being Reissued On Vinyl
'Akira' Soundtrack Finally Being Reissued On Vinyl
Source: Artist Arena

'Akira' Soundtrack Finally Being Reissued On Vinyl

Lenny Kravitz, Grace Jones, Lauryn Hill, Lion Babe, Thundercat, SZA & More Rock The Afropunk Festival 2015 in Brooklyn, NY. Source: Artist Arena

This is the first time the vinyl is being reissued since its original pressing in 1988.

Composed by Dr. Shoji Yamashiro of the Geinoh Yamashirogumi collective, the Akira Symphonic Suite was created and recorded before the film was made, with the movie's animations crafted and inspired by the music (which is normally not the case).

READ: Jordan Peele In Talks To Direct Live-Action 'Akira' Film

"Rerecorded and remastered using the most advanced audio techniques available, this release of the unforgettable score of Akira is peerless in quality and audio fidelity," a statement for the reissue reads. The soundtrack has been pressed on two 180-gram black vinyl discs, with the inside of the packaging featuring artwork from the film. Also included is a download card including a lengthy commentary by Dr. Yamashiro discussing everything from Aikra and Geinoh Yamashirogumi to the doctors work in advanced brain studies.

Check out the track list for the release below. The vinyl drops on September 15, 2017 but you can pre-order one here.


Side A:

A1. Kaneda

A2. Battle Against Clown

A3. Tetsuo

Side B:

B1. Shohmyoh

B2. Dolls' Polyphony

B3. Exodus From the Underground Fortress

Side C:

C1. Winds Over Neo-Tokyo

C2. Illusion

Side D:

D1. Mutation

D2. Requiem