Madlib Announces New Collaborative Album with Four Tet
Madlib Announces New Collaborative Album with Four Tet
Source: Now-Again Records

Madlib Drops Collaboration with Four Tet, "Road of the Lonely Ones"

Madlib's latest album, Sound Ancestors, is out next month via the Madlib Invazion imprint. Check out the first single, "Road of the Lonely Ones," now.

Madlib is getting the new year started with yet another collaborative album.

The producer has just released a new song called "Road of the Lonely Ones." The song is a collaboration with producer Four Tet and was premiered on Mary Anne Hobbs' BBC Radio 6 show before being delivered to DSPs right after.  The song will be on a collaborative album between the two called Sound Ancestors that is dropping in January.

Announced yesterday on Instagram by the Madlib's manager and Now-Again Records chief, Eothan "Egon" Alapatt, Sound Ancestors is a collection of Madlib's beats arranged, mixed, and edited by Four Tet. A precise release date has yet to be revealed.

Sound Ancestors follows a streak of critically-acclaimed collaborative work from Madlib, linking with his brother, Oh No, on a self-titled debut as The Professionals, as well as Karriem Riggins on Pardon My French, a spiritual-jazz-infused joint album as Jahari Massamba Unit. And Four Tet is no stranger to the Bandana producer's work. The electronic experimentalist previously remixed Madlib's beats for Madvillainy, releasing a batch as the Four Tet Remixes, featuring five reworks, four instrumentals, and MF DOOM's remix of "Rhinestone Cowboy," which uses a snippet of Four Tet's edit as its source.

You can read the full announcement and listen to the new track below.