* indicates required
Okayplayer News

To continue reading

Create a free account or sign in to unlock more free articles.

Already have an account?

By continuing, you agree to the Terms of Service and acknowledge our Privacy Policy

Black Thought and El Michels in studio.
Black Thought and El Michels in studio.
Photo by Sesse Lind for Big Crown Records.

Best Songs of The Week: ft. Navy Blue, Black Thought and More

The Round-Up is Okayplayer’s weekly playlist of the best songs in the worlds of hip-hop and R&B. This week’s set features new music from Navy Blue, Black Thought, Musiq Soulchild, B. Cool-Aid, and more.

Scroll through selections from this week’s sequence below and subscribe to Okayplayer’s Spotify channel today. 

Black Thought and EL Michels Affair featuring KIRBY - "Glorious Game"

After warming up the water for a few months, Black Thought and El Michels Affair drop the tranquil title track of their upcoming collaborative album. Glorious Game is out on April 14th via Big Crown Records.

Eddie Chacon - "Sundown"

Eddie Chacon slips into a soaring and sprawled samba-spiked spiritual on the latest single from his upcoming album, Sundown. The John Carrol Kirby-produced project is due out on March 24th via Stones Throw Records.

Hit-Boy and Musiq Soulchild - "is it love, is it lies"

Musiq Soulchild stacks sky-high harmonies over a lucid toy piano loop on one of his best songs in years. The track appears on the Philly singer's new Hit-Boy-helmed project, Victims & Villains, which is out today, via SoulStar Music.

Yaya Bey - "on the pisces moon"

Yaya Bey adds a spot of reggae to her repertoire on this sun-kissed standout from her upcoming Exodus The North Star EP, which is set to arrive on March 24th via Big Dada.

B. Cool-Aid featuring Liv.e, Jimetta Rose, and V.C.R. - "soundgood"

Pink Siifu and Ahwlee enlist the left coast's psychedelic soul specialists on this dialed-back and buttery ballad. It's the latest single from the duo's B. Cool-Aid reunion campaign. Leather Blvd., their long-awaited follow-up to 2019's Syrup, is due out on March 31st via Lex Records, featuring an all-star cast of guests, including Big Rube, Ladybug Mecca, Butcher Brown, Fousheé, and more.

Navy Blue - "Chosen"

Navy Blue teases his next steps on a sleek and shuffled Budgie-produced gem. The Brooklyn-based rapper is set to unveil his major label debut for Def Jam later this year.