Now Reading
Jay Rock Discusses His New LP, Honing His Craft On The Breakfast Club

Jay Rock Discusses His New LP, Honing His Craft On The Breakfast Club

Jay Rock The Breakfast Club InterviewJay Rock The Breakfast Club Interview

Jay Rock The Breakfast Club Interview

As he gets ready to share his long-anticipated new LP 90059 (but just when exactly is still uncertain), TDE MC Jay Rock visited The Breakfast Club Thursday to talk about his new body of work, personal motivations to keep improving his output and the nigh-almighty influence of Straight Outta Compton (the record, we’re pretty sure…).

Jay explains that family took priority over music for a moment in his life, and that much of the delays ahead of 90059 have come of his need to find a proper work/life balance. “It was like the music I was doing, I feel like I could go harder than what I was doing before,” Jay Rock said. “And that’s what I been doing, just staying locked in and working on my craft. And that’s what it’s about. Getting better. It ain’t about going backwards. It’s about moving forward.” The world was treated to just a little more of that when Jay Rock dropped “Easy Bake,” the latest hard-banging single off the album featuring labelmate Kendrick Lamar.

See Also

90059 Tracklist:

1. Necessary
2. Easy Bake (Feat. Kendrick Lamar & SZA)
3. Gumbo
4. Wanna Ride (ft. Isaiah Rashad)
5. The Ways (ft. Sir)
6. Telegram (Going Krazy) (ft. Lance Skiiiwalker)
7. 90059
8. Vice City (ft. Black Hippy)
9. Fly on the Wall (ft. Busta Rhymes)
10. Trees Deuce (ft. Lance Skiiiwalker)
11. The Message


Subscribe to Okayplayer and enjoy the following benefits:

  • Exclusive content not featured on the site.
  • Exclusive deals for our merch store.
  • First notice on upcoming events and online programming.