Hear Flying Lotus Sample R2-D2 On A Cosmic Loosie

Flying Lotus Flips R2-D2 For Rick Rubin's 'Star Wars'-Sampling Compilation Album

by zo
February 08, 2016 1:07 PM

Hear Flying Lotus Sample R2-D2 On His Latest Cosmic Loosie

When the words Flying Lotus, Star Wars and Ricky Rubin run across your computer screen it calls for immediate action and preparation. Announced today, the legendary perennial hit-maker (Rubin) is at the helm of a new Star Wars-inspired and sampling compilation, aptly-titled,  Star Wars Headspace. The project puts a massive database of iconic sounds from the film series — including all of the bleeps, bloops and blips your heart can bear — in the hands of some of the most astrally-minded producers in the game, including Kaskade, Baauer, Bonobo, Breakbot and plenty more. And, of course, FlyLo’s own R2-sampling contribution lead the charge, premiering moments ago on Zane Lowe’s Beats 1 program. Hear Flying Lotus’ cosmic loosie “R2 Where R U?” down below and hold tight for the release of Star Wars Headspace, due in digital on February 19th via Hollywood Records/American Recordings. Watch out for the physical release on March 18th.

Track List:
01 Kaskade: “C-3P0’s Plight”
02 GTA: “Help Me!”
03 TroyBoi: “Force”
04 Baauer: “Cantina Boys”
05 Shag Kava: “Jabba Flow: Rick Rubin Re-Work” [ft. A-Trak]
06 Claude VonStroke: “R2 Knows” [ft. Barry Drift]
07 Rick Rubin: “NR-G7”
08 Bonobo: “Ghomrassen”
09 Röyksopp: “Bounty Hunters”
10 ATTLAS: “Sunset Over Manaan”
11 Flying Lotus: “R2 Where R U?”
12 Shlohmo: “Druid Caravan of Smoke”
13 Rustie: “EWOK PUMPP”
14 Galantis: “Scruffy-Looking Nerfherder”
15 Breakbot: “Star Tripper”

Our Newsletter

Follow us on Social Media