* indicates required
Okayplayer News

To continue reading

Create a free account or sign in to unlock more free articles.

Already have an account?

By continuing, you agree to the Terms of Service and acknowledge our Privacy Policy

Jungle brothers 2
Jungle brothers 2
Photo Credit: Paul Natkin/Getty Images

You Can Now Listen to Jungle Brothers' Lost Album 'Crazy Wisdom Masters' on Bandcamp

The previously-unreleased Jungle Brothers album will be available exclusively to Bandcamp subscribers.

In the early 1990s, New York rap trio Jungle Brothers were primed to release their third album on Warner Bros. After the success of Straight out the Jungle and Done by the Forces of Nature, the group planned on switching things up for their third effort in 1992. The project, Crazy Wisdom Masters, was apparently so unorthodox that the label forced them to re-record their album. The result was J. Beez Wit the Remedy, which turned out to be their last release on the label.

On Thursday, guitarist, label owner and Jungle Brothers collaborator Bill Laswell uploaded the long lost album to Bandcamp. Laswell, as well as other rock musicians like David Williams of The Vomit Pigs originally contributed to the album's production. The project is available for $22 for subscribers.

Laswell is releasing dozens of back-catalog projects he produced for subscribers, like Fela Kuti's Army Arrangement album.

After Jungle Brothers departed from Warner Bros., one of the producers from the Crazy Wisdom Masters album, Sensational, signed a deal with independent label WordSound. In 1999, they released a 10-inch vinyl EP by a group curiously called the Crazy Wisdom Masters. The project featured five tracks from the lost album. The EP has been previously referred to as The Payback EP.

Back in 2014, one of the album's producers David Williams launched a Kickstarter in an attempt to reunite the group for three new albums. Now, fans can get the full project as the Jungle Brothers originally intended. View the full tracklist below.

Jungle Brothers - Crazy Wisdom Masters 

  1. Simple as That
  2. Good Ole Hype Shit
  3. Book of Rhyme Pages
  4. JB's Comin' Through
  5. Spittin' Wicked Randomness
  6. Spark a New Flame
  7. Mysterious Monkey
  8. Battle Show
  9. I'm in Love With Indica
  10. Ra Ra Kid
  11. Peace Ahki