Trump Signs A Revised Travel Ban Excluding Iraq

Trump Signs A Revised Travel Ban Excluding Iraq

Trump To Consider Eliminating National Endowment For Arts,

Photo of Donald Trump courtesy of CNN.

Six weeks after unveiling his order to halt immigration from seven Muslim-majority countries, Donald Trump is trying again, but this time with a revised plan of action.

As of today, the 45th president signed an executive order on a reworked version of the travel ban that is designed to skirt some of the legal challenges it faced. The first notable change is that Iraq is off the list altogether with Syria, Iran, Libya, Somalia, Sudan and Yemen remaining in tact.

Lawful permanent residents (green card holders) are excluded from the travel ban, plus those with validly issued visas will also be exempt from the ban. “If you have travel docs, if you actually have a visa, if you are a legal permanent resident, you are not covered under this particular executive action,” White House adviser Kellyanne Conway said on FOX and Friends Monday.

Iraq, according to an administration fact sheet, will “increase cooperation with the U.S. government on the vetting of its citizens applying for a visa to travel to the United States.”

Originally, Trump’s travel ban barred citizens from seven countries (including Iraq) for 90 days, all refugees for 120 days and indefinitely for refugees from Syria. Trump and his administration’s officials continue to say that this #MuslimBan is not targeting a specific religion, saying, “The order is not any way targeted as a Muslim ban… we want to make sure everyone understands that.”

The new order does not prioritize religious minorities, but all refugees are barred from entering the country for 120 days.


Our Newsletter

Follow us on Social Media