Mixtape Mondays: Trackademicks & The HNRL x Nick Catchdubs, Nappy Roots, Applejac - Okayplayer

Mixtape Mondays: Trackademicks & The HNRL x Nick Catchdubs, Nappy Roots, Applejac

Trackademicks & The HNRL x Nick Catchdubs "Summer School"

The summer seems to be a popular source of inspiration for mixtape DJs this year.  In this week’s Mixtape Monday, we present two mixtapes whose sole existence is thanks to the season of pool parties, barbecues, and girls in short shorts.

Trackademicks and the HNRL x Nick Catchdubs – Summer School:

Seemingly out of nowhere, a brand new HNRL mixtape was released this morning.  The Bay Area crew has been killing it for years and they have teamed up with Nick Catchdubs for Summer School, the only mixtape you’ll need to score your summertime shenanigans.  The whole crew is here, Mike Baker the Bike Maker, Josie Stingray, Spank Pops, Whiz, 1-O.A.K., Moxmore, and of course Trackademicks.

“Track is a longtime homie,” Nick Catchdubs, co-founder of Fools Gold Records said. “Ever since I first started DJing out of town – he and the whole Honor Roll have always had their own crazy, unique style and shown so much love from day one. His first single ‘Enjoy What You Do’ is a perfect example of the putting-out-your-friends’-music attitude that Fool’s Gold was founded on. A chance conversation a month or two ago with Mike Baker at one of our Artist Series events in the store led to this tape, I just told them to go stupid with the beats and make stuff that will be fun to DJ and fun to listen to for the summer. They passed the test…”

1. Intro / Disaster Drill feat Mike Baker, Whiz, Spank Pops, Josie Stingray & Trackademicks (prod. by Flosstradamus)
2. Wait For It feat Trackademicks, Spank Pops & Josie Stingray (prod. by Trackademicks)
3. Wooowww (Bay Shit) feat. Trackademicks & Kool A.D. (prod. by Trackademicks)
4. Back to School feat Moxmore (prod. by 1-O.A.K.)
5. Gimme A Beat feat. Trackademicks & L. Deez (prod. by Trackademicks)
6. Eric Roberts feat. Trackademicks, Moxmore, & Spank Pops (prod. by Trackademicks)
7. Eat A Parsnip feat Josie Stingray, Spank Pops, Trackademicks, & Mike Baker & 1-O.A.K. (prod. by Trackademicks)
8. Nasty Girls feat. Moxmore, Mike Baker, Trackademicks, & Josie Stingray (prod. by Trackademicks)
9. Planetary Cassanova feat. Trackademicks, 1-O.A.K., & Mike Baker (Malcolm McLaren)
10. Double Dutchin’ feat Mike Baker & Trackademicks (prod. by 1-O.A.K.)
11. The Party Starter feat Whiz, Josie Stingray, Trackademicks, & Spank Pops (Mono/Poly)
12. Late Night Hype At The Taco Truck feat. Trackademicks & Mike Baker (prod. by Trackademicks)
13. Speedway feat Mike Baker, Trackademicks & 1-O.A.K. (Metro Area)
14. Bukkake feat Mike Baker (Motor City Drum Ensemble)
15. Say Something feat Trackademicks
16. Rewind (Tonight Remix) feat. iamSU! (prod. by 1-O.A.K.)
17. Numb feat 1-O.A.K., Trackademicks, & Whiz (prod by 1-O.A.K.)


Nappy Roots "Shit's Beautiful"

Nappy Roots – Shit’s Beautiful:

Shit’s Beautiful is the latest mixtape from the southern crew Nappy Roots, who have been putting out quality product that’s been criminally overlooked by many for the last ten years.  The crew teamed up with AllHipHop.com to release this collection of beats and rhymes worthy of your ear drums.  Simply put, shit’s beautiful.

1. Intro (feat. Skinny Deville)
2. Today (feat. NR, Deacon The Villian & The Wheeler Boys)
3. O.Y.N. (Old Young Nicca) (feat. 40 Akerz)
4. Another Sofa Bed (feat. Audio Stepchild & B. Stille)
5. Black Friday (feat. 40 Akerz) (vocals by Kelsey Lu)
6. Oh Yeah (feat. Sheba Shane & Ron Clutch)
7. Bigga Thomas (feat. 40 Akerz) (vocals by Johnny Spanish)
8. It’s Yours (feat. Junior & B. Stille)
9. Waiting (feat. Kelsey Lu)
10. Poverty (feat. Stick Boyz) (vocals by D. Thomas)
11. Bigger Than Me (feat. B. Stille & Ron Clutch) (vocals by NR Kids)
12. I’m Doin Good (feat. Skinny Deville, B. Stille & Jeff Johnson)


Applejac "Summer Madness"

Applejac Summer Madness Volume One

Applejac is coming for your barbecues with his latest mixtape, Summer Madness Volume One, released in conjunction with SoulBounce.com.  Summer Madness is jam packed full of tried and true summer classics along side some recent gems.  Even your mama could get with this.


1. Roy Ayers Ubiquity – Everybody Loves The Sunshine
2. Al Green – Love And Happiness
3. Robert Glasper Experiment feat. KING – Move Love (Applejac’s Sounds Of Mecca Remix)
4. Eric Roberson feat. Chubb Rock – Summertime Anthem (Applejac’s Sounds Of Mecca Remix)
5. Caron Wheeler – Livin In The Light (The Original Story)
6. Lalah Hathaway – Small Of My Back
7. Mar – Understand The Game
8. DJ Jazzy Jeff & Ayah – Back For More
9. The O’Jays – Darlin’, Darlin Baby
10. Lionel Richie – All Night Long (All Night)
11. Grover Washington, Jr. – Summer Song
12. Central Line – Walking Into Sunshine
13. Slave – Just A Touch Of Love (Applejac’s Hot Oil Rubdown Edit)
14. Chuck Brown & The Soul Searchers – Bustin Loose
15. Chaka Khan – I Know You, I Live You
16. Stevie Wonder – Do I Do
17. Teena Marie – Square Biz
18. Funkadelic – (Not Just) Knee Deep
19. Patrice Rushen – Forget Me Nots
20. Change – The Glow Of Love
21. Prince – I Wanna Be Your Lover
22. Michael Jackson – Billie Jean
23. Brand New Heavies – Dream Come True
24. Mamond – Preguiciman
25. Jamiroquai – Mr. Moon
26. Kool & The Gang – Summer Madness


Our Newsletter

Follow us on Social Media