"Find You" Marks Return Of The Robert Glasper Experiment

The Robert Glasper Experiment Return With "Find You," Album Release In NYC This October

The Robert Glasper Experiment Return With "Find You," Album Release In NYC This October
Album cover illustration done by contemporary artist, Hebru Brantley.

The Grammy Award winning band, The Robert Glasper Experiment, returns with a new single plus a new outlook on creating. “Find You,” a powerful single from the group, explores the essence of the Experiment as each band member contributes vocals and shares in songwriting on the album, which is colorfully titled ArtScience. The eclectic album sounds like a beautiful mixture of funk, soul, hip-hop, jazz, blues, disco, electronic and pop.

Saxophonist Casey Benjamin, bassist Derrick Hodge and drummer Mark Colenburg link back up with Robert Glasper to offer audiophiles a vibrant and challenging collection of great music. After touring the world, Glasper returns from his adventures in South America, Australia, Europe, Asia and the Middle East to release ArtScience to the public on September 16.

Fans who pre-order now (click here!) will instantly receive the single, “Find You,” which will also be made available on streaming services.

Written by all four members of The Experiment, “Find You” charges through various emotions, moods and genres. Hodge gives his all on lead vocals, while Michael Severson provides a ripping guitar solo. With Glasper’s son, Riley, making another appearance, calling for justice for those affected by the epidemic of police brutality and injustice — “Find You” is the melodious and meticulous way of speaking truth to power.

“He’s speaking his mind,” Glasper explained. “He was five and the Michael Brown case came on the news and he started going off.” Riley, speaking to the anger that we all are feeling, says, “It’s not fair! We should let other people live! … Let’s try to make the police better … like real police that help. No gun shooting!” After giving us two entries in his Black Radio series, Glasper kept himself busy with the Grammy-nominated album, Covered, which was recorded live at Capitol Studios with bassist Vicente Archer and drummer Damion Reid. He’s also scored Don Cheadle‘s Miles Ahead film, played all over Kendrick Lamar‘s To Pimp A Butterfly and Anderson .Paak‘s Malibu albums, as well as collaborated with Mac Miller, Common and Herbie Hancock on their forthcoming projects.

In addition to “Find You” and the ArtScience announcement, The Experiment have also announced an NYC album release show at the Bowery Ballroom on October 3. As we get deeper into the fall, expect the team to let us know when and where they’ll be hitting the road shortly. “People need to hear what the Experiment sounds like, just us—know what our vibe is and can be,” Robert said in a release statement.

Listen to “Find You” below, plus get a taste of the album’s track listing.

The track listing for ArtScience is as follows:

1. This Is Not Fear (D. Hodge, R. Glasper, C. Benjamin, M. Colenburg)
2. Thinkin Bout You (R. Glasper, D. Hodge, M. Ayers)
3. Day To Day (C. Benjamin)
4. No One Like You (R. Glasper, C. Benjamin)
5. You And Me (R. Glasper, D. Hodge, C. Benjamin, M. Colenburg)
6. Tell Me A Bedtime Story (H. Hancock)
7. Find You (C. Benjamin, D. Hodge, R. Glasper, M. Colenburg)
8. In My Mind (R. Glasper, M. Colenburg)
9. Hurry Slowly (C. Benjamin)
10. Written In Stone (C. Benjamin, J. Lake, R. Glasper, R. Coleman)
11. Let’s Fall In Love (R. Glasper, M. Vorzimer, A. Niambi)
12. Human (J. Harris, T. Lewis)

Our Newsletter

Follow us on Social Media