Fat Joe + Remy Ma Serve Up Delicious Treats at 'Plato O Plomo' Listening Session
Fat Joe + Remy Ma Serve Up Delicious Treats at 'Plato O Plomo' Listening Session

Fat Joe + Remy Ma Serve Up Delicious Treats at 'Plata O Plomo' Listening Session

Fat Joe + Remy Ma Serve Up Delicious Treats at 'Plato O Plomo' Listening Session Photo of Remy Ma + Fat Joe taken by @BEX_Effect for HipHopDX.

Fat Joe and Remy Ma had a strong 2016, and this past Friday they hosted a private listening party for their upcoming album Plato O Plomo.

Last year saw the Terror Squad groupmates release the Cool and Dre-produced “All The Way Up” in March, and enlist Jay Z for a remix. The song peaked at no. 27 in the Billboard Hot 100, and earned them two Grammy nominations for "Best Rap Performance" and "Best Rap Song". Remy Ma also continued to star on Love & Hip Hop: New York, after joining the cast in 2015.

Before pressing play on the album, Fat Joe spoke about both of their accomplishments. How Remy Ma bounced back from a seven-year prison sentence into stardom, and how he has been able to still find new success more than 20 years into his career.

“Remy Ma was female rapper of the year for two years straight, she went away for seven years. She’s out now, year and a half, she’s [still] the hottest shit in the game. You study anybody else in the history of rap music, they’ve never done that,” Joe said. “...The rappers I idolize, who I don’t even put myself in the same picture with them, not too many of them, when they were my age, put out number one songs in the fucking world. Fucking double Grammys, double platinum, this and that, they just ain’t do it.”

It’s been years since either of them have dropped a full-length album, but Remy Ma said that she and Joe tapped into the grind from their respective early days while working on Plato O Plomo. The first half of the album seems more based in their roots, with bangers that showcase their street side. The back end, which has songs like “Money Showers” featuring Ty Dolla $ign and “Heartbreak” featuring The-Dream, has their radio-friendly efforts. The album also features Kent Jones, Sevyn Streeter, BJ The Chicago Kid, French Montana, and '80s R&B/soul/gospel legend Stephanie Mills.

“Joe’s exact words were, 'Rem, I know you’re a family woman, you’ve changed, you’re married, but you gotta go bad!” That’s what he was saying every day, ‘go bad,’” Remy Ma said. “...We took it back to the essence. Getting back on the road, doing radio, performing for free, showing up for free. It’s the sacrifice that we made, because we knew that’s what we had to do.”

See the tracklist below and pre-order Plata o Plomo on iTunes here.

1. Beast (ft. Elley)

2. Swear To God (ft. Kent Jones)

3. Spaghetti (feat. Kent Jones)

4. All The Way Up (feat. French Montana & Infrared)

5. How Can I Forget (feat. Kent Jones)

6. How Long (Interlude)

7. Say Yes (ft. Sevyn Streeter & BJ The Chicago Kid)

8. Heartbreak (ft. The-Dream)

9. Cookin' (ft. French Montana & RySoValid)

10. Money Showers (ft. Ty Dolla $ign)

11. Too Quick (ft. Kingston)

12. Dreaming (ft. Stephanie Mills)

Plata O Plomo is slated for release in stores and digital marketplaces on Feb. 10.