OKP News: The Roots Officially Announce Release of New LP undun - Okayplayer

OKP News: The Roots Officially Announce Release of New LP undun

by Eddie "STATS"
8 years ago

This morning The Roots officially announced the December 6th release of their new LP undun on Island Def Jam. A sort of novel in audio form, undun is “an existential re-telling of the short life of one Redford Stephens (1974-1999).” In some ways the culmination of the play between street legal rap and high art that has always characterized The Roots’ music the record explores “the intersection of free will and prescribed destiny as it plays out on the corner,” beginning with Redford’s death and moving backwards in time to deconstruct all that has led to his (and our own) coming “undun.” Or as The Roots’ drummer and spokesman Ahmir “?uestlove” Thompson puts it:

“At this point in our career we’d like for our work to have a unifying theme, and an experiential quality. We’ve been intentionally making our albums shorter in length so that they can be experienced as a continuous work. The music is band-oriented with an eye on the moody cinematic. As a DJ, I am the King of playlists, but I don’t want our albums to feel like a playlist or a mixtape for that matter. We want to tell stories that work within the album format and we want the stories to be nuanced and useful to people. Undun is the story of this kid who becomes criminal, but he wasn’t born criminal. He’s not the nouveau exotic primitive bug-eyed gunrunner like Tupac’s character Bishop in Juice… he’s actually thoughtful and is neither victim nor hero. Just some kid who begins to order his world in a way that makes the most sense to him at a given moment… At the end of the day… isn’t that what we all do?”

See our accompanying post to catch the World Premiere of the first leak “Make My” featuring Big K.R.I.T.  “Make My” hits iTunes November 1st and The Roots will be playing New York’s Highline Ballroom on Nov. 29th-30th and again on Dec. 5th Dec. 6th to launch the album with a bang. Get the full tracklist after the jump and stay tuned for more!

1. Sleep
2. Make My
3. One Time
4. Kool On
5. The Jump
6. Stomp
7. Lighthouse
8. I Remember
9. Tip The Scale
10. Redford

Our Newsletter

Follow us on Social Media