Lee “Scratch” Perry Has A New Album Arriving In September

zo Zo is a staff writer at Okayplayer where he covers…

Lee "Scratch" Perry Has A New Album Arriving Next Month

Late last year we were saddened to learn that reggae pioneer and innovator, Lee “Scratch” Perry‘s “secret lab” in the Swiss Alps had gone up in a blaze of smoke. But it appears that even the loss of his fabled studio retreat won’t hold him back, as he’s announced that a new album, Must Be Free, will arrive on September 24th, featuring the likes of Subatomic Sound System, The Groovematist, and Phlobi, amongst others. The album will arrive as a follow-up to last year’s collaborative project with Pura Vida, The Super Ape Strikes Again, marking an album per year since 2008’s The Mighty Upsetter.

Jury’s still out on whether the album will live up to its name and actually be free, but that won’t stop us from celebrating this triumphant return, especially in the face of all he’s endured in these last few years. Check out the track listing for Lee “Scratch” Perry’s new album down below along with its cover art.

Lee "Scratch" Perry Has A New Album Arriving Next Month

Must Be Free Track List:
01 Psycho Dread
02 Rat Race
03 House of Sin
04 Isabel
05 Jungle Tongue
06 No Evil
07 No Sorrow
08 On Nigeria
09 Strip Off
10 Too Much Is Too Much
11 Therapist
12 Must Be Free
13 House of Sin (Remix)

h/t Pitchfork

Want More?

Sign Up To Our Newsletter

Follow Us