J. Period Reveals 'Rise Up' Guest Features + Tracklist

J. Period Reveals 'Rise Up' Guest Features + Tracklist

J. Period Reveals 'Rise Up' Guest Features + Tracklist

Artwork created by Ernesto Yerena.

Friend and fam to the site, J. Period, is giving his all to the people after taking home a huge W for his successful Hamilton mixtape, which topped the Billboard 200 in its first week. As we reported last week, the talented DJ-and-producer has linked up with actor-and-activist, Jesse Williams for a protest effort titled, Rise Up!

The title track, which featured IRL raps from Black ThoughtPosdnuosPharoahe Monch and Joss Stone, was only the first appetizer from this 11-track offering. Inspired by the EPIX documentary series, America Divided, J. Period’s unofficial-official soundtrack, which is slated for public release May 2nd, will feature guest appearances from DJ Jazzy JeffFirst Look Friday alum MaségoAloe BlaccEric Roberson and more.

For anyone who needs that motivational movement music, Rise Up! is right up your alley. Don’t let this one pass you by, circle May 2nd on your calendar and get ready to use these quotable lines as chants at the next rally.

Check out the Rise Up! tracklisting below:

1. “RISE UP!” f. Black Thought (The Roots), Posdnuos (De La Soul), Pharoahe Monch & Joss Stone
2. “Miranda (Rise Up)” f. Rhymefest, Xzibit & Jesse Williams
3. “Mr. Officer (J.PERIOD Edit)” f. Eric Roberson (prod. DJ Jazzy Jeff & Playlist Retreat)
4. “Listening (Edit)” f. Maségo
5. “Hands Up, Don’t Shoot” f. Aloe Blacc
6. “Rhythm is the Weapon (Interlude)” f. Mayda Del Valle
7. “The Follower” f. Dayne Jordan & Aaron Camper
8. “Say My Name [Live]” (Interlude) f. Maimouna Youssef
9. “America Divided Theme (End Credit)”
10. “Voice for the Voiceless (Outtro)” (prod. DJ Jazzy Jeff)
11. “Things Deeper Than My Skin” f. Ozay Moore (MC Eq1)

Our Newsletter

Follow us on Social Media