Mixtape Mondays: DJ Woody, Moovmnt x Jesse Boykins III, Full Crate & FS Green

DJ Brainchild Pimp rag, tootsee pop and a cane.

DJ Woody x Tokyo Dawn Records "The Boogie"

Many of you noticed the absence of Mixtape Mondays last week, and all we have to say about that is Murphy’s Law was in full effect.  Everything returns to normal this week, though.  The new normal looks like DJ Woody boogie-ing with Tokyo Dawn Records, our friends at Moovmnt delivering a quick Jesse Boykins III mix plus: Full Crate & FS Green return to Mixtape Mondays!

DJ Woody x Tokyo Dawn Records “The Boogie
I was in college when I first got hipped to Tokyo Dawn Records.  They were relatively new at the time, but already had made a name for themselves on the demo scene with dozens of high quality releases available for free online.  In the 15 years that have passed since they began operations, Tokyo Dawn has become a real record label.  In celebration of the release of their latest compilation The Boogie vol. 3, DJ Woody put together this great mix of some of the label’s best 80’s boogie influenced tracks.

01 Kris Mars – Night Falls (sample)
02 Psaul – Slow Dancin’ feat. Karma Stewart
03 Spinnerty – Just Listen feat. John Robinson (B. Bravo Remix)
04 Rakotep (Stacy Epps & Astronote) – Get Up
05 Coco Solid – Wow
06 J-Felix – The Green Light feat. Jake Jon
07 Colonel Red – Rain A Fall (Dagger DX Rework)
08 AD Bourke – Aries
09 Vindahl – Head Over Heels feat. Coco (Nihilism Remix)
10 Opolopo – Glide
11 Favorite Flava – So Cruel (Sasac Remix)
12 Broken Haze – Rebuild (B. Bravo Remix)
13 Stan Smith – Disco Technic (Digify Remix)
14 The Rah Band – Messages From The Stars (Original 12″ Astro Mix – Atjazz Re-Edit)
15 Al Velilla – Fearless feat. Opolopo
16 SoulParlor – Real feat. Colonel Red (Opolopo Roller Skate Remix)
17 Wagon Cookin’ – All The Night feat. Gabriela Smith
18 Doggy Phunk Palace – I’m Ready
19 Vindahl – Sometimes (12″ Groove Version)
20 Reeno – So Funky
21 Aybee – In Every Way feat. Omega
22 B. Bravo – Computa Love
23 Amalia – Freeze That! (Son Of Kick Remix feat. Grems & Micro Coz)
24 Yellowtail – Back To The Melody feat. Eska (Opolopo Remix)


Jesse Boykins x Moovmnt Mini Mix

Moovmnt x Jesse Boykins III – “Mini Mix”
If you’re not up on Jesse Boykins III by now, I’m not sure you’ve been paying attention to Okayplayer. The love doesn’t start and end on OKP though.  Our friends at Moovmnt are fans too, hence their quick Jesse Boykins III “mini mix” highlighting tracks from his entire career.

01 Jesse Boykins III – Itis
02 AFTA-1 – Connect
03 Jesse Boykins III – Connected Ft. Theophilus London
04 Theophilus London – Cold Pillow Ft. Jesse Boykins III
05 Jesse Boykins III – Chanel
06 Zo! – If I Could Tell You No Ft. Jesse Boykins III
07 Jesse Boykins III – Baby I Don’t Know
08 Foreign Exchange – Make Me A Fool Ft. Median & Jesse Boykins III
09 Jesse Boykins III – B4 The Night Is Thru
10 Jesse Boykins III – Tabloids (Machine Drum Remix)


Full Crate & FS Green "Mixing November 2012"

Full Crate & FS Green “Mixing November 2012”
It wasn’t long ago that I featured Full Crate & FS Green’s Mixing Monthly mixtape series, but the November 2012 edition is so good that I had to bring them back again.  The Dutch duo once again have put together an excellent mix of styles and sounds from the past, present and future.  I’m already looking forward to the next installment!


+ 30 Foamscape – Axel
+ Seravince – U Love Ft. Renee Neufville
+ Miguel – Adorn Ft. Diddy & French Montana (Bad Boy Remix)
+ Boeboe – Ladi
+ Jill Scott – Golden (Catching Flies Remix)
+ Destiny’s Child – Independent Woman ($irOJ Remix)
+ Terrence Parker – Love’s Got Me High (Marc Romboy’s Systematic Soul Mix)
+ Black Science Orchestra – New Jersey Deep
+ Fion & Brame – Whats Up
+ Equator Club – Gold//Love
+ Dream Koala – We Can’t Be Friends
+ MMOTHS – For Her Ft. Young & Sick)
+ David Stewart – Silly Boy
+ Town Hall – Charlie (Different Sleep Remix)


Want More?

Sign Up To Our Newsletter

Follow Us