Audio: J Dilla x Moodymann – Dillatroit EP [Preview + Tracklisting]

Eddie "STATS" Imported from Detroit.

artwork for the J Dilla Dillatroit vinyl EP on Kenny Dixon, Jr. AKA Moodymann's Mahagoni records

Mahagoni Music, the label of Detroit techno & house auteur Kenny Dixon Jr. AKA Moodymann, just released this snippet of their forthcoming Dillatroit EP, dropping May 25th in limited edition 12″ vinyl. Details are sketchy but judging from the official Ma Dukes Yancey drop on this soundcloud preview (and confirmed by our sources) it seems like this if going to be a special wax-only sampler of select tracks from the Rebirth of Detroit LP that’s in the works for June 12th on Ma Dukes’ own Ruff Draft records. Makes sense, since Dixon has been a vocal supporter of the Vinyl Preservation Society and Detroit-made music in general. I guess it’s too much to hope that the EP might also include one of his signature soulful techno reworks of the Dilla material–but we can hope. Get thee to a record store on May 25th and if you are in the D, make sure you’re at the Magic Stick that night for the Ruff Draft label launch event. We love you, Ma Dukes.

UPDATE: FACT mag and online British music retailer Juno have confirmed some of the above details about the Dillatroit project, including the involvement of former Slum Village DJ Andrés and a tracklisting–which at 12 unreleased tracks (after the jump) weighs in closer to a full-length LP rather than a 12″ EP sampler as it’s been described up til now. The news just keeps getting better.

01 Birthright
02 Feel This Shit
03 The Best That Ever Did It
04 Lets Pray Together
05 Ride Wit It
06 Say My Name
07 Dillatroit
08 Detroit Madness
09 Possible
10 Mind Yo Business
11 Rebirth is Necessary
12 Pitfalls

spotted at TTL

Want More?

Sign Up To Our Newsletter

Follow Us