?uestlove, The Funky Drummer: Volume One - Okayplayer

?uestlove, The Funky Drummer: Volume One

by shamz
11 years ago

For those of you who are unfamiliar with Hip Hop Is Read , consider this your introduction. The kid Ivan is quite the Hip-Hop historian and I routinely go there for some vintage material. While on the boards I saw that he posted a new anthology, this one featuring our very own ?uestlove (go check the J Dilla one he did a while back). Instead of covering the work we all know and recognize as his own with The Roots, this series highlights the many projects he has produced or was the drummer on that you may not have known about. This is part 1 of the series and features artists like DJ Jazzy Jeff, Common, Bilal, J*Davey, D’Angelo, Al Green, Erykah Badu, Mark Ronson and more. So go download volume 1 of “?uestlove, The Funky Drummer.” Well done Ivan, can’t wait to hear the next one. Follow me after the jump for the tracklisting and download link.

>>>Download: ?uestlove, The Funky Drummer: Volume One

1. “We Live in Philly” by DJ Jazzy Jeff

* From the album The Magnificent (2002)

* Drums by ?uestlove

* Featuring Jill Scott

2. “Geto Heaven (Remix T.S.O.I. [The Sound Of Illadelph]” by Common

* From the album Like Water for Chocolate (alternate version) (2000)

* Drums by ?uestlove

* Featuring Macy Gray

3. “Sometimes” by Bilal

* From the album 1st Born Second (2001)

* Drums by ?uestlove

4. “Lil Big Heads” by J*DaVeY

* From the album The Beauty In Distortion & The Land Of The Lost (2008)

* Co-produced by ?uestlove

5. “Greatdayndamornin’/Booty” by D’Angelo

* From the album Voodoo (2000)

* Drums by ?uestlove

6. “Booty” by Erykah Badu

* From the album Mama’s Gun (2000)

* Drums by ?uestlove

7. “Valerie” by Mark Ronson

* From the album Version (2007)

* Drums by ?uestlove

* Featuring Amy Winehouse

8. “Same Shit Different Day Pt. 1” by Jaguar Wright

* From the album Denials Delusions and Decisions (2002)

* Produced by ?uestlove

9. “Loving You” by Carol Riddick

* From the album Larry Gold Presents Don Cello And Friends (2003)

* Produced/drums by ?uestlove

10. “You’ve Got the Love I Need” by Al Green

* From the album Lay It Down (2008)

* Produced/drums by ?uestlove

* Featuring Anthony Hamilton

11. “Philadelphia Freedom” by The Philadelphia Experiment

* From the album The Philadelphia Experiment (2001)

* Drums by ?uestlove

12. “Endless Railway” by DJ Krush

* From the album Zen (2001)

* Featuring ?uestlove

Our Newsletter

Follow us on Social Media