After 10 Years of Waiting, Jay Electronica Has Released His Debut Album ‘A Written Testimony’

Jay Electronica has finally released his highly-anticipated debut album.

After live-streaming his album across social media and other music streaming platforms, like YouTube, Jay Electronica has officially released his debut album A Written Testimony on TIDAL. The album includes multiple JAY-Z features, even though the legendary rapper doesn’t get co-starring credit on the album. (JAY-Z is the first rapper verse you hear on the album.)

The album features nine tracks, plus skit. Besides JAY-Z, there are features from Travis Scott, James Blake, and The-Dream, who appears on two songs. (One of the songs The-Dream appears on is “Shiny Suit Theory,” a song that was released back in 2010. As far as producers, Jay got production from The Alchemist, No I.D., Swizz Beatz, araabMUZIK, Hit-Boy, Khruangbin, and more. Jay Electronica himself provided most of the production.

Last month, Jay Electronica announced that he would be releasing A Written Testimony in 40 days (which would’ve been on Wednesday, March 18, but, fortunately, has come early). According to the New Orleans-rapper, the album was recorded over a 40-day, 40-night stretch starting on December 26.

Over the decade, Jay has released a bunch of loosies and collaborated with a number of artists, from Kendrick Lamar to JAY-Z. But no official album or follow up to his classic Act I: Eternal Sunshine (The Pledge) tape — until now. The full production credits for A Written Testimony can be viewed below.

1. “The Overwhelming Event” (Prod. by Jay Electronica)
2. “Ghost of Soulja Slim” (Prod. by Jay Electronica)
3. “The Blinding” (Prod. Araabmuzik, G. Ry, Hit-Boy, and Swizz Beatz)
4. “The Neverending Story” (Prod. by The Alchemist)
5. “Shiny Suit Theory” (Prod. by Jay Electronica)
6. “Universal Soldier” (Prod. by Jay Electronica)
7. “Flux Capacitor” (Prod. by Jay Electronica)
8. “Fruits of the Spirit” (Prod. by No I.D.)
9. “Ezekiel’s Wheel” (Prod. by Jay Electronica)
10. “A.P.I.D.T.A.” (Prod. by Khruangbin)


Jay Electronica’s Career Is The Biggest “What If” Of The 2010s

Jay Electronica & J Dilla Planned To Work On Music Together Before He Died

Elijah C. Watson

Elijah Watson serves as Okayplayer's News & Culture Editor. When he's not writing he's listening to Sade and crying or watching My Hero Academia with his partner.

Published by
Elijah C. Watson

Recent Posts

Grammy Predictions 2023: Our Guesses at Who’ll Win the Big Four (And Other Categories)

Will Beyoncé win over Adele? Will Steve Lacy have his breakout moment? Will Kendrick have… Read More

February 2, 2023

John Singleton Left Behind a 2Pac Painting From ‘Baby Boy’ Worth $75K

Featured in 2001 John Singleton-directed drama film Baby Boy, a mural painting of the late… Read More

February 2, 2023

‘Fast X,’ ‘The Flash’ and ‘Transformers’ Trailers to Air During Super Bowl

Trailers for forthcoming action films will air during the Super Bowl LVII, including Ant-Man and… Read More

February 2, 2023

After Reaching 75 Billion Streams on Spotify, Drake Proposes That Artists ‘Should Get Bonuses’

Drake, Her Loss artist and recent Apollo Theater headliner, said that artists 'should get bonuses'… Read More

February 2, 2023

Jon Stewart Slams Media For ‘Salivating’ Over Tyre Nichols Footage

Jon Stewart and writer/comedian Kasaun Wilson recently discussed how the death of Tyre Nichols has… Read More

February 2, 2023

Jordan Peele Talks About Why He Didn’t Pursue Live-Action ‘Akira’ Remake

While on the Happy Sad Confused podcast, Jordan Peele reflected on his decision not to… Read More

February 2, 2023