Steve Arrington Announces First Album in 11 Years, ft. Knxwledge, Mndsgn, and More

The heavily-sampled Ohio funk legend’s new album is set to arrive in September.

Steve Arrington is readying the release of his first solo project in over a decade.

Arriving on September 18th via Stones Throw, Down to The Lowest Terms: The Soul Sessions wrangles the venerable LA indie label’s roster of producers and peripheral talents to welcome the Ohio funk vet to his new home. The official tracklist (see below) shows contributions from Knxwledge, Mndsgn, Devin Morrison, J. Rocc, Jerry Paper, and more. The album announcement arrives with the buoyantly aspirational and rhodes-soaked lead single “Keep Dreamin’,” produced by Shibo.

All of it arrives on the heels of a gradual return to the world. Earlier this year, Arrington lent his distinctly elastic vox to Thundercat’s “Black Squalls,” sharing the mic with Steve Lacy and, on the extended album edit, Childish Gambino. Previously, Arrington released a collaborative project with Dam-Funk in 2013, following it with outtakes pried from his own vault on the 2014 compilation Way Out (80-84.) His last solo project landed back in 2009 with the self-released, Pure Thang. 

Hear Steve Arrington’s new single “Keep Dreamin'” below. Scroll on for the album’s full tracklist and head over to Stones Throw to pre-order your copy of the album on vinyl today. Hold tight for Arrington’s next transmission in the weeks ahead.

Down to The Lowest Terms: The Soul Sessions Tracklist:

1. The Joys Of Love (prod. Mndsgn, Devin Morrison)
2. Make A Difference (prod. DJ Harrison)
3. Soulful I Need That In My Life (prod. Jamma D)
4. Keep Dreamin’ (prod. Shibo)
5. Love Knows (prod. Brian Ellis)
6. My Favorite Swing (prod. Apifera)
7. Good Mood (prod. Jerry Paper)
8. Love Is Gone (prod. Knxwledge)
9. Work On It (prod. Shibo)
10. You’re Not Ready (prod. Gifted & Blessed)
11. Make Ya Say Yie (prod. Knxwledge)
12. All I Wanna Do (prod. J.Rocc)
13. It’s Alright (prod. Benedek)


Zo is a staff writer at Okayplayer where he covers music.

Published by

Recent Posts

Memphis Police Releases Bodycam Footage of Deadly Tyre Nichols Beating

The city of Memphis has released four videos showing the beating that killed Tyre Nichols… Read More

January 27, 2023

Best Songs of The Week: ft. Kari Faux, Lil Yachty and More

The Round-Up is Okayplayer’s weekly playlist of the best songs in the worlds of hip-hop… Read More

January 27, 2023

‘The Simpsons,’ ‘Family Guy’ and ‘Bob’s Burgers’ Gets Extension for Two Additional Seasons

Fox has given two-season renewals to animated favorites The Simpsons, Family Guy and Bob's Burgers… Read More

January 27, 2023

Consequence Says He’s ‘Disgusted’ With Pusha T Cutting Ties With Kanye West

In an interview with The Art of Dialogue, longtime G.O.O.D. Music act Consequence accused Pusha… Read More

January 27, 2023

A Book On Erykah Badu Album ‘New Amerykah Part Two’ Is Coming in 2024

Written by Karmeryn Alexa Carter, a book on 2020 Erykah Badu album New Amerykah Part Two… Read More

January 27, 2023

7 New Hip-Hop & Neo-Soul Albums You Should Be Listening To (Week of January 27)

Styles P and Lil Yachty have dropped projects on this New Music Friday. Additional releases… Read More

January 27, 2023