A Tribe Called Quest Shares a Star-Studded Tracklist for The Posthumous Phife Dawg Album

Q-Tip, De La Soul, Rapsody, 9th Wonder, and Little Brother, are featured on the upcoming Phife Dawg album, Forever.

A Tribe Called Quest has revealed the release date of Forever, the long-delayed posthumous album from Phife Dawg.

Celebrating what would have been the late rapper’s 51st birthday on Saturday, the group announced Forever is set to arrive on March 22nd, 2022, which will mark the sixth anniversary of Phife’s death. According to Tribe, the album will be executive produced by longtime friend and manager, DJ Rasta Root, on behalf of the rapper’s family and estate. “As we celebrate his life on this day, we are overwhelmed with excitement of completing Forever,” said Phife’s wife, Deisha Taylor. The rapper’s mother was equally enthused to share a release date for her son’s second studio album. “His voice a steel pan cruising the sea salt edge of Trini waters. A balm, a salve, a son’s kiss on his mama’s cheek,” said Cheryl Boyce-Taylor in a press release. “What an amazing gift to receive on my beloved’s birthday.”

Initially announced just weeks after the rapper’s death in 2016 with the J Dilla-produced single “Nutshell,” Forever has seemingly been in the works ever since. In 2017, another single arrived in the Dwele assisted, “Wanna Dance,” but then it was radio silence from the group and the estate until 2020, when Tribe claimed a new Phife album would be landing “early next year.” That didn’t happen, but not too long after the Forever campaign reignited with two alternate versions of “Nutshell” (with accompanying videos, of course,) and a new single with Dilla’s little brother, Illa J. 

On March 15th, a week out from the album’s release, Tribe shared the artwork for the album, along with a full tracklist, featuring appearances from De La Soul, Q-Tip, Rapsody, 9th Wonder, Little Brother, and more.

You can read A Tribe Called Quest’s announcement of the new Phife Dawg album below. Scroll on to see the tracklist and cover art.

Forever Tracklist:

1. Cheryl’s Big Son (Intro)
2. Only A Coward
3. Fallback (Feat. Rapsody & Renée Neufville)
4. Nutshell Pt. 2 (Feat. Busta Rhymes & Redman)
5. Sorry (Feat. V.Rich)
6. Dear Dilla (Reprise) (Feat. Q-Tip)
7. Wow Factor (Feat. Maseo of De La Soul)
8. Residual Curiosities (Feat. Lyric Jones)
9. God Send (Feat. Dwele)
10. Round Irving High School (Feat. Cheryl Boyce-Taylor & Angela Winbush)
11. French Kiss Trois (Feat. Redman & Illa J)
12. 2 Live Forever (Feat. Pos of De La Soul, Little Brother & Darien Brockington)
13. Forever

This story was updated on March 15th. 


Zo is a staff writer at Okayplayer where he covers music.

Published by

Recent Posts

Rap Veteran Coolio Dead At 59

Coolio, known for his Grammy-winning hit "Gangsta's Paradise" died on Wednesday at 59-years-old, according to… Read More

September 28, 2022

The Making of Miguel’s ‘Kaleidoscope Dream’ Album

Miguel’s Kaleidoscope Dream is an album that splits time between rebellious youth and reverence for… Read More

September 28, 2022

Watch Lizzo Play James Madison’s 200-Year-Old Crystal Flute

While performing in Washington, D.C. on Tuesday night, Lizzo made history by becoming the first… Read More

September 28, 2022

Social Media Responds to Yung Miami Saying She Wants to Be “The Black Oprah”

In an interview with XXL, Yung Miami declared that she wants to be "The Black… Read More

September 28, 2022

17-Year-Old Arrested In Connection to Murder of PnB Rock

The 17-year-old son of Freddie Trone has been accused of murdering PnB Rock before his… Read More

September 28, 2022

Marvel’s ‘Blade’ Reboot Is Having Some Problems

From losing its director right before filming was about to begin to reports about its… Read More

September 28, 2022