Madlib Shares Tracklist and Release Date of Collaborative Album with Four Tet

Sound Ancestors is arranged, edited, and mastered by Four Tet.

Madlib has announced the release date for his upcoming collaborative project with Four Tet.

Per the producer’s Bandcamp page, Sound Ancestors is set to drop on January 29th via Madlib Invazion. It will be available in a standard black vinyl edition for $25 and two limited edition colored variant pressings for $40 each. An additional vinyl bundle ($120) includes both limited editions as well as a third “Rust” colored pressing. You can pre-order your copy of the limited edition packages via Rappcats today. Along with the album’s release date, Rappcats has shared a full 16-song tracklist and the project’s cover art (see both below.) The album’s campaign commenced in December with the arrival of the lead single, “Road of The Lonely Ones.” And last week, a follow-up arrived in “Hopprock.”

Although Sound Ancestors is Four Tet’s first full-length collaborative project with Madlib, the British electronic experimentalist is no stranger to reworking The Beat Konducta’s suites. In 2005, Stones Throw released an EP of the producer’s Madvillainy edits, which also featured the late MF DOOM’s  remix-within-a-remix of “Rhinestone Cowboy” (sampling an unreleased Four Tet edit of the song.) On Instagram, the producer (who edited, arranged, and mastered Sound Ancestors,) describes the new album as one “Not made into beats for vocalists to use but instead arranged into tracks that could all flow together in an album designed to be listened to start to finish.”

Hear the first two singles from Sound Ancestors below. Scroll on for the album’s full tracklist and cover art. Pre-order your copy of the standard LP pressing in The Shop today.

Sound Ancestors Tracklist:

1. There Is No Time (Prelude)
2. The Call
3. Theme De Crabtree
4. Road of the Lonely Ones
5. Loose Goose
6. Dirtknock
7. Hopprock
8. Riddim Chant
9. Sound Ancestors
10. One For Quartabê/Right Now
11. Hang Out (Phone Off)
12. Two for 2 -For Dilla
13. Latino Negro
14. The New Normal
15. Chino
16. Duumbiyay

Source: Madlib Invazion


Zo is a staff writer at Okayplayer where he covers music.

Published by

Recent Posts

This App Will Create Your Dream Festival Lineup Using Your Spotify Data

Designed by Anshay Saboo, third-party app Instafest allows users to create a dream festival lineup… Read More

November 28, 2022

Brittney Griner Reportedly Facing 16-Hour Work Days At Russian Labor Camp

WNBA player Brittney Griner has begun her nine-year sentence at IK-2 penal colony in Yavas… Read More

November 28, 2022

Best Hip-Hop Videos To Drop Last Week: Mike, Wiki, 38 Spesh, Harry Fraud, Meek Mill & More

Last week video releases from Mike, Wiki, 38 Spesh, Harry Fraud, and Meek Mill captured… Read More

November 28, 2022

The Hip-Hop Community Mourns the Death of Manager Jonathan ‘Hovain’ Hylton

Hip-hop manager Jonathan ‘Hovain’ Hylton died on Friday, sparking social media tributes from Curren$y, Lloyd… Read More

November 28, 2022

Will Smith On Moviegoers Who Refuse His Post-Oscars Comeback: “I Completely Understand”

While promoting Emancipation, Will Smith shared that he'll "completely understand" if fans don't accept him… Read More

November 28, 2022

Mixtape Monday: YL + Starker x Zoomo, SHIRT, Mike + Wiki x The Alchemist, Sadat X + More

YL, Starker & Zoomo, SHIRT, Mike, Wiki & The Alchemist, Sadat X and more this… Read More

November 28, 2022