Hear Prince’s Unreleased “Father’s Song” off Upcoming Deluxe ‘Purple Rain’ Reissue

zo Zo is a staff writer at Okayplayer where he covers…
Prince & 3rdEyeGirl - "MARZ" [Official Video]

Prince Rocked Baltimore w/ Historic, Career-Spanning Show feat. Miguel, Estelle, Marilyn Mosby + More [Recap]

Another unreleased track from the much-anticipated expanded and deluxe reissue of Purple Rain

T-minus two weeks until the arrival of mammoth reissue of Prince‘s era-defining classic Purple Rain, and we’re still getting drops from the vault. On the heels of the “Our Destiny/Roadhouse Garden” two-fer, another selection from the expanded release has arrived.  “Father’s Song,” later interpolated into the album cut “Computer Blue,” can now be heard in its bare, piano-led instrumental form for the first time ever.

HEAR: Prince’s “Our Destiny/Roadhouse Garden” From Upcoming Deluxe Purple Rain Reissue

Hear “Father’s Song” in this week’s installment of The Round-Up below and scroll on to peep the full track list for expanded and deluxe releases of Prince’s Purple Rain. Hit the link to pre-order your copy today via iTunes.



Disc One: Original Album (2015 Paisley Park Remaster)
1. Let’s Go Crazy
2. Take Me With U
3. The Beautiful Ones
4. Computer Blue
5. Darling Nikki
6. When Doves Cry
7. I Would Die 4 U
8. Baby I’m A Star
9. Purple Rain

Disc Two: From The Vault & Previously Unreleased
1. The Dance Electric
2. Love And Sex
3. Computer Blue (“Hallway Speech” version)
4. Electric Intercourse (studio)
5. Our Destiny / Roadhouse Garden
6. Possessed (1983 version)
7. Wonderful Ass
8. Velvet Kitty Cat
9. Katrina’s Paper Dolls
10. We Can Fuck
11. Father’s Song


Includes Disc One and Disc Two as Listed Above

Disc Three: Single Edits & B-Sides
1. When Doves Cry (edit)
2. 17 Days
3. Let’s Go Crazy (edit)
4. Let’s Go Crazy (Special Dance Mix)
5. Erotic City
6. Erotic City (“Make Love Not War Erotic City Come Alive”)
7. Purple Rain (edit)
8. God
9. God (Love Theme From Purple Rain)
10. Another Lonely Christmas
11. Another Lonely Christmas (extended version)
12. I Would Die 4 U (edit)
13. I Would Die 4 U (extended version)
14. Baby I’m A Star (edit)
15. Take Me With U (edit)

DVD: Prince And The Revolution, Live at the Carrier Dome, Syracuse, NY, March 30, 1985
1. Let’s Go Crazy
2. Delirious
3. 1999
4. Little Red Corvette
5. Take Me With U
6. Do Me, Baby
7. Irresistible Bitch
8. Possessed
9. How Come U Don’t Call Me Anymore?
10. Let’s Pretend We’re Married
11. International Lover
12. God
13. Computer Blue
14. Darling Nikki
15. The Beautiful Ones
16. When Doves Cry
17. I Would Die 4 U
18. Baby I’m A Star
19. Purple Rain

Want More?

Sign Up To Our Newsletter

Follow Us