BADBADNOTGOOD Announce New Album ‘Talk Memory’ with Searing New Single

The new BADBADNOTGOOD album will feature appearances from Arthur Verocai, Terrace Martin, Karriem Riggins, Brandee Younger, and Laraaji.

Nearing five years since the release of their last album, BADBADNOTGOOD is officially back in action.

On Thursday morning, the group announced a follow-up to their 2016 album, IV, is locked and loaded for release this fall. The nine-track project, titled Talk Memory, is out on October 8th via XL Recordings, featuring a number of collaborations with Brazilian symphonic psyche specialist, Arthur Verocai (who recently appeared on the new Hiatus Kaiyote album, Mood Valiant,) as well as Terrace Martin, Karriem Riggins, Brandee Younger, and ambient pioneer Laraaji. The album is currently up for pre-order on vinyl through the label’s site along with the group’s website, where you can cop an exclusive pink and blue colored variant.

The album’s announcement is paired with the arrival of a searing new single in “Signal From The Noise,” where the group flips from spacious piano and flute trills to high-octane prog-rock screed (and back) in a dizzying flash. It marks the group’s second transmission of the last calendar year following “The Chocolate Conquistadors,” a funk-fueled link-up with the late MF DOOM released in 2020 as part of a recent Grand Theft Auto Online expansion.

Watch the Duncan Loudon-directed video for BADBADNOTGOOD’s new single “Signal from The Noise” below and scroll on for the full tracklist to Talk Memory. 

Talk Memory Tracklist:

1. Signal From The Noise
2. Unfolding (Momentum 73) feat. Laraajii
3. City of Mirrors feat. Arthur Verocai
4. Beside April feat. Karriem Riggins, Arthur Verocai
5. Love Proceeding feat. Arthur Verocai
6. Open Channels –PHYSICAL ONLY–
7. Timid, Intimidating
8. Beside April Reprise feat. Arthur Verocai
9. Talk Meaning feat. Arthur Verocai, Terrace Martin and Brandee Younger


Zo is a staff writer at Okayplayer where he covers music.

Published by

Recent Posts

Memphis Police Releases Bodycam Footage of Deadly Tyre Nichols Beating

The city of Memphis has released four videos showing the beating that killed Tyre Nichols… Read More

January 27, 2023

Best Songs of The Week: ft. Kari Faux, Lil Yachty and More

The Round-Up is Okayplayer’s weekly playlist of the best songs in the worlds of hip-hop… Read More

January 27, 2023

‘The Simpsons,’ ‘Family Guy’ and ‘Bob’s Burgers’ Gets Extension for Two Additional Seasons

Fox has given two-season renewals to animated favorites The Simpsons, Family Guy and Bob's Burgers… Read More

January 27, 2023

Consequence Says He’s ‘Disgusted’ With Pusha T Cutting Ties With Kanye West

In an interview with The Art of Dialogue, longtime G.O.O.D. Music act Consequence accused Pusha… Read More

January 27, 2023

A Book On Erykah Badu Album ‘New Amerykah Part Two’ Is Coming in 2024

Written by Karmeryn Alexa Carter, a book on 2020 Erykah Badu album New Amerykah Part Two… Read More

January 27, 2023

7 New Hip-Hop & Neo-Soul Albums You Should Be Listening To (Week of January 27)

Styles P and Lil Yachty have dropped projects on this New Music Friday. Additional releases… Read More

January 27, 2023