16 New Hip-Hop & R&B Albums You Should Listen to Right Now (Week of June 4)

Torry Threadcraft Torry Threadcraft is a writer who covers music, sports, and…
Lil Baby Lil Durk
Photo Credit: Mario Pujals

This week’s crop of new albums features a movie soundtrack and new releases from veteran MCs.

Keeping up with new albums in the modern age of streaming can be a tough task for the average listener. With every week, dozens of new artists appear, older albums are added to streaming, and artists tack on bonus tracks to their albums via deluxe editions. It can be a lot to process.

That’s why every week here at Okayplayer, we round up the most notable projects from artists new and old, in hip-hop, R&B, and more. This time around, we have a joint album from Lil Baby and Lil Durk, the Gully movie soundtrack featuring 21 Savage and Schoolboy Q, and a bevy of releases from all over the globe.

Lloyd Banks returns to the rap game after five years away with The Course of the Inevitable. Smoke DZA and Sleepy Hallow also dropped new projects, making it a multigenerational New York affair. Stream and download your favorites below.

Lil Baby & Lil Durk – The Voice of the Heroes

Source: Quality Control Music/Alamo Records/Motown Records

Fousheé – Time Machine 

Source: Trackmasters Entertainment

Lloyd Banks – The Course of the Inevitable

Source: Money By Any Means, Inc.

Sleepy Hallow – Still Sleep?

Source: Winners Circle Ent./RCA Records

Smoke DZA – The Hustler’s Catalog 2

Source: RFC/Cinematic Music Group

Peter Rosenberg – Real Late 

Source: Real Late Records

Apollo Brown & Raheem DeVaughn – Lovesick

Source: Mello Music Group

BROCKHAMPTON – Roadrunner: New Light, New Machine (Deluxe)

Source: Question Everything, Inc.

ANKHLEJOHN & Rome Streetz – Genesis 1:27

Source: Rare Scrilla Records

The Avalanches – Since I Left You (20th Anniversary Deluxe Edition)

Source: Modular Recordings

Cherrie – Naag Nool

Source: Asylum Records

Mndsgn – Rare Pleasure 

Source: Stones Throw Records

Various Artists – Gully Soundtrack

Source: Epic Records

Fly Anakin – Pixote

Source: Fly Anakin

Joy Oladokun – in defense of my own happiness

Source: Amigo Records, LLC

Seinabo Sey – Sweet Life

Source: Saraba AB

Want More?

Sign Up To Our Newsletter

Follow Us