Now Reading
Listen To Kaytranada’s Remix Of “Planet Rock” From Upcoming Documentary ‘808’

Listen To Kaytranada’s Remix Of “Planet Rock” From Upcoming Documentary ‘808’

Kaytranada Shares "Bus Ride" feat. Karriem Riggins

Kaytranada Teased A Remix Of Solange's "Cranes In The Sky" And It's Gorgeous

The documentary 808, which tells the story of the Roland TR-808 drum machine and it’s remarkable impact on popular music, will be out on Apple Music on December 9th. Ahead of it’s release Apple Music released a Kaytranada remix of Afrika Bambaataa and the Soulsonic Force’s highly influential 1982 song “Planet Rock.” The song was premiered on Zane Lowe‘s program. The documentary features appearances from Rick RubinDiplo, Beastie Boys, A-TrakFatboy SlimLil Jon, PharrellQuestlovePhil CollinsFelix Da Housecat and others. 808 was directed by Alexander Dunn and is narrated by Zane Lowe. 808: The Music, the soundtrack to the documentary is now out. Head here to listen to it and cop. 808 will be available on iTunes for rental and download on December 19th. Listen to Kaytranada’s “Planet Rock (KAYTRANADA Planet Invasion Remix)” below and scroll down to watch the trailer for 808.

Kaytranada Tour Dates:
December 10th @ L’Olympia Montreal, Canada
December 28th @ The Observatory Santa Ana, CA
December 29th @ The Observatory North San Diego, CA
December 30st @ The Novo Theatre Los Angeles, CA
December 31st @ 1015 Folsom w/ Anderson .Paak San Francisco, CA

808: The Music Soundtrack Tracklist 
1. Afrika Bambaataa & The Soulsonic Force, “Planet Rock”
2. Beastie Boys, “Paul Revere”
3. Public Enemy, “Yo! Bum Rush the Show”
4. Man Parrish, “Hip Hop Be Bop (Don’t Stop)”
5. Planet Patrol, “Play At Your Own Risk”
6. Shannon, “Let The Music Play”
7. Strafe, “Set It Off”
8. T La Rock / Jazzy J, “It’s Yours”
9. 808 State, “Flow Coma”
10. Felix da Housecat, “Kickdrum”
11. Lil Jon & The East Side Boyz, “What U Gon’ Do” (feat. Lil Scrappy)
12. Flux Pavilion, “Vibrate”
13. Jamie xx, “Gosh”
14. Lil Wayne & Charlie Puth, “Nothing But Trouble”

H/T: Pitchfork


Subscribe to Okayplayer and enjoy the following benefits:

  • Exclusive content not featured on the site.
  • Exclusive deals for our merch store.
  • First notice on upcoming events and online programming.