OKP Premiere: Sidewalk Chalk - "There She Goes"

OKP Premiere: Sidewalk Chalk - "There She Goes"

by zo
4 years ago

OKP Premiere: Sidewalk Chalk - "There She Goes"

Chicago based octet Sidewalk Chalk premieres “There She Goes,” the first single from their upcoming sophomore release Leaves. Led by emcee Rico Sisney and Maggie Vagle on vocals, the eight piece rocks a dulcet synthesis of progressive jazz, hip-hip and soul. “There She Goes” is no exception to the algorithm, sporting some silky smooth Hargrove-esque horn arrangements laid over a tight soul-driven groove. Props to the drummer holding down the low-end of things while the keys bounce supreme under a haunting hook.

Sidewalk Chalk is a beyond concrete ensemble of musicians who have shared the stage with a slew of OK-favorites, including our resident king of cool ?uestlove,  (rumor has it they rocked an impressive set of Dilla’s Donuts as a well suited opener) De La Soul, Action Bronson, Jean Grae and Hiatus Kaiyote –not to mention backing Talib Kweli and blues giant Buddy Guy–Needless to say, there’s some serious Native Tongues flavor injected into the foundation of this well rounded 8-piece of Mid-Western funk. Their follow-up to 2010’s debut record Corner Store is due out on 2/25 and will focus on a more raw approach to their brand of forward minded R&B. You can peep “There She Goes” the new single from Sidewalk Chalk below, but keep your ear to the ground for more from this ill octet.

Our Newsletter

Follow us on Social Media